Top Ten Tuesday (39)

7 Aug

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Posts on My Blog That Paint the Best Picture of Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely folks over at The Broke and the Bookish post a top ten list topic so that book lovers like you and me can pour over our shelves and make our own lists. You can check out all the other Top Ten Tuesday‘s on their site!

***

I guess I should start out by saying that I am more myself on this blog than I am in real life sometimes, so when you stop by and read ANYTHING, you’re getting a clearer picture of what I’m all about than other people. But if I had to pick 10 posts that were the MOST me? I think this list is a pretty good sample. Hopefully I won’t scare any of you away with my awkwardness and rambling. 

My Very First Post

Basically where I got all gushy and idealistic and said things that I wanted to do with my blog but haven’t really done yet. This is typical. I don’t always have good motivational skills, guys. But this is the happy-feeling, “I’m so excited to start talking about books and AWESOME THINGS with everyone!” post. I still get this excited about books, and I have for a long time.

Thankfulness

Another gushy post! Who knew that they were like landmines all over the place?! But I like this one, and I think it says a lot about me, because it’s mostly about something OTHER than books that’s important to me: my family. They’re seriously my favorite people on the earth.

THE NAME OF THE STAR: My First Review

I did not sit down to write this post intending to make it a rehashing of my earliest posts. But the reason I put this one on here is because it’s actually pretty indicative of how I go about doing new things: like a freaking scaredy cat. Like, “OMG, I’M SO NERVOUS. Let’s just get in there and do a quick–I mean QUICK–lap, and then LEAVE so I can go back home and finish my book.” And then I wind up actually having a good time and not wanting to go after all. Amy = total WUSS around strangers and in new environments.

My Bookish Loves, Part the First

Because if the things I love the most about books doesn’t say things about me, I don’t know what will. Here it is in a nutshell, though: I like noticing little things. Details are pretty to me. I’d rather stare at the intricacies of seed pearls sewn onto a dress than look at anything that didn’t have some little embellishments hiding for me to find. This is both awesome and terrible at once. Because that means I’m also one of those flighty people who loses track of time and stuff. Also? This post will tell you that I’m a little obsessive about stuff. Turquoise books? Books that have two different fonts in the title? Weird.

THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE

THIS BOOK. I can’t stop talking about it, I feel like. That’s because I love it forever, even though it makes me a little sad. I love it because it feels like how I imagine I would feel if my sister ever died suddenly. My sister is my bestest friend, and I would be just as lost and devastated as Lennie is.

Excuse Me While I Fangirl

Flying my nerd flag over here. One of the things I love the BEST about my blog is that it allows me to unleash my inner nerd something FIERCE. There are some things that you’ll hear me talk about ALL THE TIME either here or on Twitter: Game of Thrones, Legend of Korra, Merlin, Game of Thrones, Jon Snow, also probably some comics. I STILL geek out over all of these posts. That’s how much I love this stuff.

THE POLAR EXPRESS

Guys, I love Christmas. It’s my favorite, favorite time of year. I’m rarely giddier for as long a stretch of time as I am in the month or so leading up to Christmas. I start listening to Christmas music before Thanksgiving, like a human Macy’s. THE POLAR EXPRESS, to me, captures that feeling of being a kid and believing in things that couldn’t rationally be real. It’s a pretty special feeling, and I love this book for reminding me of it.

GRAVE MERCY

Couple things about me from this review: One, I love history. I minored in it in college, watch The History Channel all the time, and just love it in general, and GRAVE MERCY has some great historical elements. Two, I love New Girl. I think it’s effing hilarious. When I serendipitously found a way to work a New Girl quote into this review of this BADASS book, it made me so happy. I always love a little humor, friends.

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Books

Ahhh, memories. Our roots say a lot about us, and my reading roots go pretty deep. I’ve been loving books for a long time, and this list of my favorites from my little whippersnapper years is not only a good indicator of the things I still like to read–perhaps with the exception of fantasies which I apparently did not read in my youth–but it’s also a great trip down memory lane. Good times.

Basically any Top Ten Tuesday I’ve ever done

I know, I know: post dump. But really. My TTT’s are pretty personal. At least it seems like they are when I go back and read them. I feel like I can’t just make a list and slap it on my blog. I am always feeling a need to EXPLAIN myself, and when you combine that urge with my love of books, and this awesome meme, I feel like I wind up spilling my beans a little bit. But I love it. The books I love are personal to me, so it makes sense that I get personal when I talk about them.

7 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (39)”

  1. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz August 7, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    I love how you say you feel the need to explain yourself when you post. Funny, but I’m the opposite. People complain that I don’t say enough! And I really can’t seem to change (are things like this genetic, I wonder?!)

    Here’s a ten post look at me. I hope you will stop by!

  2. best (@patpicha) August 7, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Although I haven’t read the Sky is Everywhere, I know I’m gonna love it. I have two copies at home — Aussie cover and US cover. 😀 I fell in love with it just by looking at it!

  3. best (@patpicha) August 7, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I forgot to leave my link. Hahaha. In case you want to check out my first nervous TTT post. 😉

  4. Lisa Parkin August 7, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I also love Grave Mercy AND New Girl! Great combo. 🙂

  5. Vikk @ Down the Writer's Path August 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Great list and I so remember my addiction to Nancy Drew.

  6. Melissa @ i swim for oceans August 7, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    You POLAR EXPRESS post makes me feel all warm and fuzzy 🙂 is it Christmas yet?!

  7. Danya August 8, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Just read your childhood favourites post — I adored Ramona when I was a kid, too! Love that you say you “pranked vicariously” through her, because that’s pretty much how I feel as well. And I was a fan of Little House in the Big Woods (I read a couple others in the series but the first was my favourite) and Berenstain Bears books. Yay for bookish nostalgia! 🙂

Tell me what's up!