Tag Archives: oldies but goodies

Book Review: Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

28 Nov

Click on the book cover for this title's Goodreads page!

Title: Wildwood Dancing

Author: Juliet Marillier

Series: Wildwood, book 1

Genre: Fantasy YA, Fairy Tale Retelling

Publisher: Knopf

Published: January 23, 2007

Summary: High in the Transylvanian woods, at the castle Piscul Draculi, live five daughters and their doting father. It’s an idyllic life for Jena, the second eldest, who spends her time exploring the mysterious forest with her constant companion, a most unusual frog. But best by far is the castle’s hidden portal, known only to the sisters. Every Full Moon, they alone can pass through it into the enchanted world of the Other Kingdom. There they dance through the night with the fey creatures of this magical realm.

But their peace is shattered when Father falls ill and must go to the southern parts to recover, for that is when cousin Cezar arrives. Though he’s there to help the girls survive the brutal winter, Jena suspects he has darker motives in store. Meanwhile, Jena’s sister has fallen in love with a dangerous creature of the Other Kingdom–an impossible union it’s up to Jena to stop.

When Cezar’s grip of power begins to tighten, at stake is everything Jena loves: her home, her family, and the Other Kingdom she has come to cherish. To save her world, Jena will be tested in ways she can’t imagine–tests of trust, strength, and true love.

Continue reading

Advertisements

In My Mailbox (3)

20 Nov

November 20, 2011

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

I can’t lie, guys. This week’s IMM is thin, but I still got some great books to read. Some are new, some are a little old, but I’m psyched for all of them. Let’s get down to business!

FROM NETGALLEY

Sisters of Glass, by Stephanie Hemphill (May 8, 2012 from Knopf). I actually have another of Stephanie Hemphill’s books on my currently reading pile, WICKED GIRLS, which is a story in verse about the Salem witch trials. THIS book, though, is a historical fiction set in Italy among Venetian glassblowers. Sounds great! Plus I think the cover is pretty!

BOUGHT

Torn: Torn Trilogy, book 1, by Erica O’Rourke (June 28, 2011 from Kensington). This one sounds great. The murder of a best friend reveals dangerous secrets and magic and two–count ’em, TWO–yummy boys!

Brightest Kind of Darkness: Brightest Kind of Darkness, book 1, by P.T. Michelle (June 27, 2011 from Patrice Michelle). This book sounds fantastic. It’s about a 16-year-old girl who dreams every night of what will happen the following day. Obviously, this leads to problems. Problems that I want to read about, please!

Deadly Little Secret: Touch, book 1 (December 23, 2008 from Hyperion). So, I’m behind the times with this one, I know. (This series currently has four books out already, and the fifth one is out next year.) But it sounds right up my alley, so I nabbed an ebook for my Kindle and am ready to get started!

Amber Frost: The Lost Magic, book 1, by Suzi Davis. The second book in this series, SILVER DEW, is coming out next month, and the books sound so intriguing that I had to get on ’em. This one, AMBER FROST, is about a young girl who moves to a new city and meets a mysterious boy. There seem to be hints at past lives and forgotten pasts and other awesomeness. Also, strange tattoos. I can’t even!

That’s it for me this time around! Any oldies but goodies in your mailboxes this week?

Book Review: East by Edith Pattou

16 Nov

Click on the book cover for this title's Goodreads page!

Title: East

Author: Edith Pattou

Genre: Fantasy YA, Fairy Tales

Publisher: Harcourt

Published: September 1, 2003

Summary: Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him—in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family—she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As familiar and moving as “Beauty and the Beast” and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale “East of the Sun, West of the Moon,” a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Continue reading