Recommend A…(12)

6 Aug

Recommend A... meme

…Book That Someone Recommended To You

Recommend A… is a SUPER meme hosted by Shanyn from Chick Loves Lit that lets us get a little random, and a little off the radar. I LOVE IT.

I’ve been given some incredibly solid recommendations before, guys. These are three of my favorites. Books that, once I read them, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t read them sooner.

Book cover for The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind: The Kingkiller Chronicle #1 by Patrick Rothfuss. Do yourselves a favor and read this book. Seriously. One of the best books I’ve ever read, and I have basically every bloggy friend I have to thank for pushing me to pick this on up off my shelves and finally read it.

Book cover for Eon by Alison Goodman

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn: Eon/Eona #1 by Alison Goodman. One of my friends from library school told me about this book and how great it was. I read it based on her recommendation, and the fact that it’s an Asian-based fantasy about dragons, something I haven’t read much about. I’m not sure I can read another fantasy in an Asian-esque world without comparing it to this one.

Book cover for Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy: Vampire Academy #1 by Richelle Mead. I know, I know. This is not a random, unknown book. But seriously, I was burned out from the vamps, guys. This series made me wary. But EVERYONE told me that this was series was amazing. Everyone. And everyone was not a liar. I read this series–five books–in pretty much a week. So good.

4 Responses to “Recommend A…(12)”

  1. megtao August 6, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    Just finished Eon a couple days ago (OMG IT WAS SO GOOD), and I have two more books to read before I start The Name of the Wind, which I am super excited to read thanks to yours and April’s recommendations.

  2. Amanda @ Late Nights with Good Books August 6, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I have heard great things about Eon and it’s sequel Eona. Every positive remark on it makes me realize I need to put it higher and higher on my tbr list. Name of the Wind also sounds great. Great choices!

  3. Lisa August 6, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    All three of those titles are just sitting on my shelf.
    WELL DONE.

  4. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) August 10, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    KVOTHE!! ❤ LOVE FOREVER AND EVER, AMEN.

    I have Eon on my shelf. I have flipped thru it to see the detailing on the inside, but I have yet to read it. Hopefully soon.

    I really want to read The Vampire Academy books but I have made no move toward actually putting the first book in my hand nor possession.

    (Can you see the trickle-down effect here? I can.)

Tell me what's up!