My Bookish Loves: Part the First

14 May

My Bookish Loves

So a little while back I saw a post by Asheley from Into the Hall of Books–a SUPER blogger whom I adore–about some of her favorite bookish things and when I read it, I was like, “YES! I LOVE ALL THE THINGS! I am inspired!” Because I have lots of little things about books that just…make me giddy. They aren’t always big things, or immediately noticeable things, but every time I set eyes on one of these little quirks, it makes me happier to have discovered both it and the book that brought it to me. 

So here we go! Just a few of my favorite book nerdy things. Trust me, though: There’s more where this came from. You’ll probably see it soon, too. 

Turquoise

One of my favorite colors. One of my favorite stones to wear as jewelry. When I see turquoise on a book, it immediately catches my eye and my fancy. Not blue. TURQUOISE. 

The Iron King (Iron Fey #3) by Julie Kagawa

The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus #1) by Rick Riordan

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (The Penderwicks #2) by Jeanne Birdsall

Weird trim sizes

So typically, the trim sizes on most of the books we read are somewhere between 6 x 9 or 7 x 10. That’s all perfectly fine. So when I notice a book that is obviously more square, or much smaller, or much larger (without being a picture book, mind you), it immediately makes my book nerd INSANELY happy. Like, CRAZY happy. 

Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Game of Thrones: The Graphic Novel, Volume 1 by George R.R. Martin, Daniel Abraham (writer), and Tommy Patterson (illustrator)

Savvy (Savvy #1) by Ingrid Law

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Maps

I love maps so much that I had to include them here, even though I’m trying to keep this list superficial (only things on the outside of books rather than inside). I even posted about some of my favorites because I love them so much, and think they are so important, especially in fantasies. 

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin

Title fonts that grow organically out of things on the cover

I LOVE THIS. I’m not talking about pretty fonts. Or cool-looking fonts. I’m talking about words that grow out of trees or serve as a component of the cover art itself. Seriously, this is one of my most nerdy bookish loves. It tells me that the people who designed the cover know what the book is about, and they take COHESION between the cover and the text inside seriously. WORD!

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Supergirl Mixtapes by Megan Brothers

The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin

Embossing/stamps/foil on the hard covers

Take those case covers off once and awhile, friends, and you might discover some perfect little details underneath. It’s like the cover has these awesome little secrets. 

A Dance With Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5) by George R.R. Martin

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary (Fablehaven #4) by Brandon Mull

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins

Savvy (Savvy #1) by Ingrid Law

Spine titles that are written horizontally not vertically

Easier to read, friends. And not so common, either. 

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

Lowercase fonts/two different fonts in the same title

LOVE the lowercase titles, and ESPECIALLY love the two different fonts in the same title. Just like the way they look, guys. 

If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman

Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1) by Jenny Han

Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler

9 Responses to “My Bookish Loves: Part the First”

  1. Candice May 14, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    Aw, I love this! I’ve never actually thought about the things that draw me into books, but now that I do… wow! Now I’m gonna go home and stare at my books to see what it is about them that drew me in. 🙂

  2. Cassie May 14, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    What a great blog! I love maps in the front cover, and family trees!

  3. Elizabeth May 14, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    I have to say I don’t really think through these things much, but now that you pointed it out… I think I am attracted to titles in two different fonts, too. So pretty! I am also a fan of turquoise-colored things. I have to stop myself from purchasing only turquoise-colored clothes! Fun post!

  4. fakesteph May 15, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Yes. Just yes.

  5. Heidi May 16, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    I love that you did this post! I really ought to do one as well sometime, as yours and Asheley’s both made me drool and get overly excited about physical books. I love weird sizes, and especially MAPS and organic titles and horizontal spine writing. I like that the latter seems like it should be common, but it really isn’t! Also now I really want to own the hardcover of A Monster Calls just for the pretties under the flap!

  6. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) May 18, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    OKAY.

    THIS is amazing.

    How I LOVE that you love turquoise. Not because I do, but because I get nutso over RED!!! But you know that already cause you read my post.

    YES to everything on here! YES YES YES!!!

    When I was writing that, I found myself wanting to write a second part of it because there was NO WAY to include all of the things, ya know? Smart of you to “part” yours.

    And I see so many titles on here that I love but I have to give a big HELL YES to the Rothfuss, because Kvothe is my boyfrann.

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxo ❤ ❤ ❤ for this!!

  7. Danya August 8, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Maps are awesome and can be so very important in a fantasy or dystopian novel — there are several that I’ve read and thought to myself, “I really wish there was a map here so I could visualize where they’re going!” Also, love it when there’s a cool stamp on the actual hardcover of the book. I didn’t realize there was a design on Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, but I have that book so I just went and checked and sure enough, there it is! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In My Mailbox (33) « Tripping Over Books - June 24, 2012

    […] just as good as everyone says it is. PLUS, this is, BY FAR, my favorite of the new covers. I LOVE turquoise, as a color and as a stone, so my eye goes right to this cover. Also, […]

  2. Top Ten Tuesday (39) « Tripping Over Books - August 7, 2012

    […] My Bookish Loves, Part the First […]

Tell me what's up!