In My Mailbox (27)

12 May

May 13, 2012

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

Happy Mother’s Day, moms! In your honor, I have some AWESOME books to be thankful for. You know, awesome books because MOMS are awesome. Or something. 

FROM NETGALLEY

Book cover for Here Where the Sunbeams Are Green by Helen Phillips

Here Where the Sunbeams Are Green by Helen Phillips (November 13, 2012 from Random House Children’s). Books that take place in the jungle instantly pique my interest. This book kind of reminds me of that movie Rio, except told from the people’s perspective instead of the birds. In this middle grade book, two sisters go to the Central American jungle to search for their missing father. And LOOK AT THAT COVER! Gorgeous!  

Book cover for Magicalamity by Kate Saunders

Magicalamity by Kate Saunders (December 11, 2012 from Random House Children’s). This one sounds like it will be good fun, guys. A young kid finds out that his dad is an escaped fairy on the lam and hooks up with these three fairy godmothers, who sound kind of nuts, to save his dad when he’s recaptured. 

(Big thanks to Random House Children’s for these two gems!)

 BOUGHT

In My Mailbox


The Penderwicks at Point Mouette: The Penderwicks #3 by Jeanne Birdsall. OBVIOUSLY. We all know how much I love the Penderwicks. I have a soft spot for this book because of two things: One, it takes place in Maine. LOVE the vibe of Maine. And two, Jeffery Tifton, resident sweetheart boy destined to become a Penderwick through marriage, figures into this story in a great way. I love him. LOVE HIM. 

 In Honor by Jessi Kirby. Just finished this wonderful contemp, the second from Jessi Kirby, and it didn’t disappoint, guys. Cute and heartfelt and lovely. Review coming soon!

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. This was a SUPER week for the sophomore contemps, friends! I ADORED Morgan Matson’s debut, AMY AND ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR, and so far, SECOND CHANCE SUMMER is just as fantastic. Bittersweet vibe  is what I’m feeling from it right now, so I’m both apprehensive and optimistic. I know Morgan won’t steer me wrong!

So happy with my books this week! I hope you guys are just as excited about your books! And Happy Mother’s Day to ALL THE MOMS!! 

7 Responses to “In My Mailbox (27)”

  1. Kailia Sage May 13, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I really want In Honor and Second Chance Summer. Awesome books!See what I got in my book haul

  2. Charlotte May 13, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I loved Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, I hope that Second Chance Summer is just as good.

    I hope you enjoy all your books and if you get a chance pop over and have a look at my IMM – http://peeringoverthepages.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/in-my-mailbox-4.html

    Happy reading,
    Charlotte

  3. Sony The Booklover May 13, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Nice books this week love the photo enjoy. Want to see my IMM follow the link… http://sonythebooklover.com/2012/05/in-my-mailbox-30/

  4. beckireads May 13, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    It looks like you got some great books. Glad to hear that In Honor didn’t disapoint.

  5. Chey May 13, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Awesome! I’m still waiting for In Honor to get here. Happy reading!

  6. Heidi May 13, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    You have me wanting to read The Penderwicks so bad! I swear to you, once I lift my library embargo, I am so checking it out. I’ve been waffling on whether or not to request Here Where the Sunbeams are Green. I LOVE the cover, and it sounds potentially cute, but I’ve been burned by so many MG galleys that I didn’t know much about that now I’m all nervous. Maybe if The Prince Who Fell goes well I’ll try it!

  7. justeena May 13, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    :O SECOND CHANCE SUMMER! I loved her first book too and ahhhhh I can’t wait to read this one! That’s definitely a must buy to me 🙂 Happy reading!

Tell me what's up!