Top Ten Tuesday (21)

3 Apr

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read In A Day

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely folks over at The Broke and the Bookish post a top ten list topic so that book lovers like you and me can pour over our shelves and make our own lists. You can check out all the other Top Ten Tuesday‘s on their site!

***

Reading books in a day is one of those things that makes me HUGELY happy. I feel not only accomplished, but also like I’ve just read a book so rocking and awesome that I literally couldn’t put it down until I was done. Lots of these books are some of my favorites, and most of them are going to be contemporaries, friends. They’re the only books I can usually manage to finish in a day, although there are some other gems thrown in here that are speedy and AWESOME. And since these books are so good that you will have NO CHOICE but to read them quickly, I included a couple extra in case you have a few more days to spare for reading! Yay!

Book cover for The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. SmithBook cover for Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie PerkinsBook cover for Forget You by Jennifer EcholsBook cover for Playing Hurt by Holly SchindlerBook cover for Legend by Marie Lu

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. Sigh. This one surprised me, guys, because I was expecting something cute and fun. It turned out to be something deeper, sweeter, and a little bit less about the relationship (A LITTLE BIT) and more about Hadley’s family. But it was still majorly swoony, and Oliver? LOVE HIM. I couldn’t put this one down.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. OH MY GOD THIS BOOK. I’ve read this book in one day more than once.  To me, it’s almost a perfect contemporary. Ever since I read about Anna and St. Clair and how their friendship evolves into REAL LOVE in PARIS, I think about them all the time. (No, that’s not crazy. It’s not.)

Going Too Far/Forget You/Love Story by Jennifer Echols. I have read all of these books in less than a day more than once, too. Seriously, Jennifer Echols is KILLER at contemporaries. Honestly. She’s a must read author for me because she nails all of the emotions and behaviors of her characters. They act like real people, which means that sometimes they’re infuriating. Also, the PANTY-MELTING. 

Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler. Woot! Guys, I’ve JUST NOW realized that this book was probably the beginning of my infatuation with hockey players. Because there’s one in this book, except he’s injured. Same as our leading lady, except she plays basketball. They get together at this summer camp where they help each other “rehabilitate.” *wink wink* But honestly, this is a SOLID relationship story, guys.

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu. I know I’ve sung the praises of LEGEND before, but when we’re talking about books that I can read in a day, this is most definitely one of them. The pace of Day and June’s story in The Republic is CRAZY, and it’s gripping, too. Lots of action, a developing romance, mystery, lies, shady politics. ONLY THE GOOD STUFF, friends. 

Book cover for Hunting Lila by Sarah AldersonBook cover for Moonglass by Jessi KirbyBook cover for She's So Dead To Us by Kieran ScottBook cover for Graffiti Moon by Cath CrowleyBook cover for Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Hunting Lila (Lila #1) by Sarah Alderson. Have you guys had a chance to read this one? HUNTING LILA hasn’t been published in the US yet, but I bought a copy for myself anyway and I’m SO GLAD I did. Talk about nonstop THINGS! SO much happening in this book that I couldn’t put it down until I was finished–only took a few hours. PLUS! There’s some superpower business going on here that appeals to my superhero lover. 

Moonglass by Jessi Kirby. Awww, this book was sweet and wonderful! Such a great story about a girl learning to live without her mother, AT THE BEACH, which is one of my “I must read this book because it has X” things. And the romancin’ is LOVELY. 

She’s So Dead to Us (He’s So/She’s So #1) by Kieran Scott. JERSEY HOLLA! I love this series because these books are like crack. Real Teenage Kids of the Real Housewives of New Jersey, minus the Italian guidette angle, but still with the absurdly rich people whose kids get into some outrageous, crazy, bitchy shenanigans. I love reading Jersey books, and these are probably my favorite YAs. Pure gossipy, trashy, crazy fun.    

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley. Since this book takes place in just one day, I think it’s more than appropriate that I READ it in just one day! I was blown away by GRAFFITI MOON, and not just because it’s got a great, slow, delicious romance. It’s also got gorgeous words and a really magical atmosphere (the whole book takes place at night). SIGH. 

Dairy Queen (Dairy Queen #1) by Catherine Gilbert Murdock. DJ SCHWENK! Guys, DJ is one of my favorite characters. She’s frank, unaffected, a little naive, open-hearted, funny, and unpretentious. She lives on a FARM (Amy-book buzz word!), plays basketball and football, and has some really honest and wonderful relationship up and downs with her bf, Brian. Read this first book in a day, read the second book in a day, and read the third book in just over a day. WORD.

Book cover for Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil GaimanBook cover for The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman. GUYS. This book has the following: Vikings, Norse mythology, a spunky young character, jeopardy, magic, and NEIL GAIMAN’S NAME on the cover. It’s short enough to almost be a novella, but it’s got lots of personality and charm and that little hint of darkness that Neil Gaiman’s books always have. Winner winner, chicken dinner. 

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. I can’t think of a thing about this book that, when all is said and done, bothers me. Literally nothing. I’ve read it several times, all in one day. And I don’t even rush, guys. I CAN’T RUSH. I don’t want to rush this book. And yet I always devour it BECAUSE IT’S PERFECT. 

P.S. One of these days, I’m going to quit messing around with the way these posts look. One day. Not today, obviously. But my fingers are crossed. 

24 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (21)”

  1. Teacher.Mother.Reader April 3, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    I saw a couple great books here. You are right, there is something special about finishing a book in one day. I admit, I often just can’t go to bed at night until I finish a great book. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sash and Em (@Sash_and_Em) April 3, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    We have a lot in common! Sash finished STAT in less than a day 🙂

    Our Top Ten!

  3. Melissa April 3, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Awesome list! I love your commentary on the books too — you have such a unique and spunky way of writing =) I’m new to your blog, but I’ll be back to visit again for sure!

    Here’s my list: http://writergrrlreads.blogspot.ca/2012/04/top-ten-books-to-read-in-day.html

  4. Amanda @ Sisters Unedited April 3, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Wow I haven’t read any of these. I need to check them out on GR’s. I recognize a few of them though.
    My Top Ten Books!

    Happy Reading!
    Amanda @ Sisters Unedited

  5. 1girl2manybooks April 3, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Your list is awesome! We share a couple and you also have a few books that I really want to read – Graffiti Moon, The Sky is Everywhere and Hunting Lila

  6. Elodie April 3, 2012 at 12:59 am #

    I am currently reading THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE and I am loving it 😀 I need to add some of the other books you mention to my TBR list 😀

  7. Carissa April 3, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    I keep seeing The Statistical Probability everywhere I turn lately. Looks like I should check it out!

  8. Kimberly @ Turning The Pages April 3, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    I haven’t read any of those books on your list yet but they are on my to read list 🙂
    Great picks!!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post 🙂

    Kimberly @ Turning The Pages

  9. Ashley @ Ashley Loves Books April 3, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Statistical Probability seems to be a general consensus, it’s on my list too! And we have some of the same on our list, but every other one on yours NOT on mine is so high on my TBR list! I’ve got Legend to read at the beginning of next week and I can’t wait; and Forget You is sitting waiting for a small break in my reading queue.

    Great list!
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  10. readerbuzz April 3, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    I wonder what it is about YA books that compels us to read them quickly. You can’t seem to stop, somehow.

    Ciao!

    Here’s my Top Ten Books to Read in a Day. Let me know what you think of my list!

  11. Pocketful of Books April 3, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    I forgot to put ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ on my list but I would say it is definitely a longer book that just had to be read in one day! I really want to read ‘The Sky is Everywhere’- I love the cover and the plot sounds awesome too!

    My TTT: http://pocketfulofbooksblogger.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/top-ten-tuesday-books-to-read-in-day.html

  12. Amber @ Fall Into Books April 3, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    I’ve heard great things about Anna and the French Kiss and The Statistical Probability… However, I haven’t ever had the chance to read either of them. I checked out Anna from the library, but ran out of time to read it. I’ll try again one day when I’m no longer in school.

    Here’s my Top Ten

  13. Kristin April 3, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I really need to get on to reading Legend. I feel like dystopian books are everywhere right now and its so hard to decide which ones to read first

    youngadultbookhaven.blogspot.com

  14. Elizabeth April 3, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    There are so many here I want to read! So many!

  15. Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog April 3, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Man, I keep seeing The Statistical Probability popping up everywhere. I HAVE to read it. Great list. Come check out my Top Ten

  16. Melanie @thedailyprohecy April 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    You have a very nice list! I keep seeing the statistical.. everywhere, so it must be good! I’m going to read this one soon.

    http://thedailyprophecy.blogspot.com/2012/04/top-10-tuesday-5.html

  17. April C (@booksandwine) April 3, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Neil Gaiman.

    The end.

  18. Jasmine Rose April 3, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to read Hunting Lila for SOO long! When will America get it?!?!

  19. Kate @ paranormalparachute April 3, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Oohh… another list that has Statistical Probability on it. I think this cements it – I need to go out and read this book.

    Also, Odd and the Frost Giants ❤

  20. tinalinatime April 3, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    I just finished TSPoLaFS the other day! Yeah I pretty much read it all in one day!!! 🙂

  21. Heidi April 3, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Yeah, what April said. I lurv all things Gaiman, and Odd and the Frost Giants was an AWESOME one day read. Also I need to read Jennifer Echols fast. Why? Panty melting, that’s why.

  22. reutreads April 3, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    OMG YES KIERAN SCOTT. Your TTT’s make me use ALL THE CAPS.

  23. StoryLoverX April 4, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is the perfect pick for a one day read. I want to read it so bad!

  24. The Bookworm Hun April 4, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    The Gaiman book! Want!

Tell me what's up!