In My Mailbox (21)

31 Mar

April 1, 2012

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

BIG week for the fantasy, friends, which makes me EXTRA DOUBLE happy because IT’S GAME OF THRONES DAY!!!!!! WOO HOO!!! Ahem. So, right. BOOKS. 

FROM NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS

Book cover for Velveteen by Daniel Marks

Velveteen: Velveteen, #1 by Daniel Marks (October 9, 2012 from Random House Children’s). This one sounds kind of like a YA THE LOVELY BONES, except darker and with a main character who is all REVENGEY and wants to haunt her killer until he can’t take it anymore. Obviously, her plans go awry and the stakes are HIGH for both the living and the dead, so yeah. I’m in.

Book cover for Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier

Shadowfell: Shadowfell, #1 by Juliet Marillier (September 11, 2012 from Knopf BFYR). Guys, I haven’t read much Juliet Marillier, but what I HAVE read was so legit, and I have so many of her other books on my TBR that I can’t wait to read. SHADOWFELL sounds absolutely awesome, plus it’s a fantasy, and we know I love those! Can’t wait to dive into this one!

Book cover for Kissing Shakespeare by Pamela Mingle

Kissing Shakespeare by Pamela Mingle (August 14, 2012 from Random House Children’s). So, I think this cover is GORGEOUS. But what REALLY gets me excited to read KISSING SHAKESPEARE is the whole, “theater geeks time traveling back to 16th-century England” business. Because the kissing Shakespeare in the title is REAL. I think. It SOUNDS like it’s going to be real, and that is AWESOME. I love it when the line between sci-fi (time travel) blurs with historical fiction. 

Book cover for Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson

Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson (June 12, 2012 from Delacorte BFYR). Is it just me, or are books set in other countries THE BOMB? I just love them, especially when they are contemporaries, although I love them in any time period. This one sounds just plain fun: flirting, Italian boys, mysteries (ooooh!), and “long hot nights of dancing under the stars.” You don’t have to ask me to read this book twice. 

Book cover for The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom: The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom, #1 by Christopher Healy (May 1, 2012 from Walden Pond Press). I can’t believe I forgot this one earlier! Because seriously? A MG of the famous fairy tales–Snow White, Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty–told from the points of view of the PRINCES?!? Mind = BLOWN. I was CRAZY excited when I got this one from Edelweiss.

(Random House was OFF THE CHAIN on NetGalley this week, and Walden Pond Press totally made my day! MWAH to you, Random House and Walden! BIG BIG kiss!)

BOUGHT

Guys, I went a little bananas this week with the buying. *moment of silence for Amy’s wallet, which got HIT this week* BUT! Look at these books! YAY for all the fantasy! And some great contemps, too! (Too bad Pepsi doesn’t give me a cut for the little plug in my picture there.)

Croak: Croak, #1 by Gina Damico. This one is from the DAC ARC Tour, and I forgot to shout it out in last week’s mailbox. So, THANKS LISA AND THE DAC ARC TOUR LADIES! I loved CROAK. This one is OUT NOW, and my review is going up soon! 

The False Prince: The Ascendence Trilogy, #1 by Jennifer A. Nielsen. GUYS. This one sounds LEGIT. It’s about a young boy who gets chosen to compete against other boys to PRETEND to be a kingdom’s lost prince returned to prevent a civil war. It sounds TWISTY with lots of scheming and intrigue and TREASONOUS GOINGS-ON. YES.

Graffiti Moon by Cath CrowleyI read this one already and loved it like I love cinnamon buns with cream cheese frosting. (That’s A LOT.) Needed to have a copy to have and hold forever, and now I do. 

A Monster Calls by Patrick NessSame as above, except maybe MORE. I’ve already petted this book and hugged it lots. I don’t want to peer pressure you guys to read it if you haven’t yet, but…PEER PRESSURE. READ IT!

The Exiled Queen: Seven Realms, #2 by Cinda Williams Chima. I just finished reading the first book in this series, THE DEMON KING, and I NEEDED this next book ASAP. I’m so glad that I started this series, guys. It’s legit fantasy.

Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler. I’ve been meaning to read some of Sarah Ockler’s books for a long time, but my library doesn’t have any! *sad face* So when I saw that this book had a cookie on the cover because it’s got baked goods in it, and that there are hockey players, too, I KNEW that this would be my first book of hers. I LOVE baking and hockey players!

A Game of Thrones: The Graphic Novel, Vol. I by George R.R. Martin, Daniel Abraham (Writer), and Tommy Patterson (Illustrator)YO. I think I need to make a separate fangirl post about this because, HONESTLY. Game of Thrones day on TV, Game of Thrones day in my mailbox. I really can’t handle it. BUT!! Here’s a preview of the EFFING AWESOME in this book:

(HIIIII, GHOST!!)

Whew! I was pretty excited this week, guys!! I hope you were too!!!

7 Responses to “In My Mailbox (21)”

  1. Heidi April 1, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Omg I love ALL THE BOOKS!! You have to tell me how the SoIaF graphic novels are. I love graphic novels, and have been drooling over the cover art for these, but wasn’t sure I was actually going to read them since I’ve already read the books several times. Dude, I am SO excited for The False Prince, you are right, it sounds totally legit, and it’s MG which gives it bonus points. Enjoy!

  2. A. Knight April 1, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    Okay. Seriously. HOLLA. BACK.

    This is definitely a fab haul. Let me just say why. VELVETEEN. It’s no secret that this is one of the best covers designed by the cover lords in AGES. Ok, well that might be an exaggeration, but it’s so true. I’m itching to lunge for my kindle, screw release dates, and just read the hell out of it. Fortunately (or not so fortunately) I have more restraint than I’d initially given myself credit for. Flirting in Italian is WAITING TO BE READ. FiI is the sexy man in under my blankets. Just saying. Graffiti Moon! Damn book got me all gooey and happy, because the writing and romance are just superb. Bittersweet! The False Prince! I have to get on both of those. ASAP.

    ANYWAY.

    Have an amazing reading week!

    Asher

  3. Pocketful of Books April 1, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    This is an awesome haul. Especially because you have tied it in to GAME OF THRONNNESSSS EEEEEEE! Can’t wait! Twill be so good to have it back again…I missed it so. I have seen this graphic novel in Waterstones but didn’t get it- looks pretty!

    My IMM: http://pocketfulofbooksblogger.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/in-my-mailbox.html

  4. Leah @ The Pretty Good Gatsby April 1, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Um yeah. Can you pack everything up and send it to my house? Thanks!

    🙂 You’ve got some seriously AWESOME books this week and I can’t wait to see what you think of them!!

    My IMM

  5. Lisa! (@heylisarenee) April 1, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Pouring one out for your wallet today.

    SO glad you loved Croak! That is a title I am STOKED to read too!

    A MONSTER CALLS FOREVER. I LOVE YOU CONOR.

    I think I need the graphic novel in my life. Yes I do.

  6. Angie April 1, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    VELVETEEN! I want SO BAD. But I want it in a physical ARC, though, so I’ll wait. I’ve got time. 😉 Though I may end up succumbing to the Netgalley. I wasn’t familiar with Shadowfell, but it sounds GREAT. I love fantasy and am so glad more are coming out (like The False Prince!). Haven’t read Bittersweet yet, but I love the simple cover.

    Great mailbox!

    My IMM

  7. April C (@booksandwine) April 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    UM WHATTT there’s a graphic novel for Game Of Thrones? I need to buy that noise like YESTERDAY!

Tell me what's up!