In My Mailbox (16)

26 Feb

February 26, 2012

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

Got some FAB stuff this week for the Debut Author Challenge ARC tour and some SWEET deals for mah Kindle. Woot!

FROM THE DAC ARC TOUR

I have been SO LUCKY with the books I’ve gotten/will be getting for the DAC ARC tours. I’m seriously psyched about all of them, including these three!

Look at these beauties!!

Above World: Above World #1, by Jenn Reese (February 14, 2012 from Candlewick). Finished this one already, friends, and it was some SOLID middle-grade sci-fi/dystopian. Very clever and zippy. Review going up soon!

Unraveling: Unraveling #1, by Elizabeth Norris (April 24, 2012 from Balzer + Bray). Reading this one now and, guys? IT’S AWESOME. It sucked me right in. And according to the authoress herself, there will be MOAR. As much as I would LOVE to see a book like this as a stand-alone just for funsies, I can’t say that I’m not JAZZED to the extreme that there will be more Janelle and Ben. And I’m not even finished with it yet.

The Catastrophic History of You and Me, by Jess Rothenberg (February 21, 2012 from Dial Books). JUST got this one in the mail and YAY! I’ve been looking forward to reading this book about a girl who literally dies of a broken heart for AGES. Can’t wait!

Thanks LOADS to Tara @ Fiction Folio and Lisa @ Lisa Is Busy Nerding for organizing the tours for these books. Also for being FABULOUS.

BOUGHT

The Highlander’s Sword and The Highlander’s Heart: Highlander #1-2, by Amanda Forester. These were some cheap goodies for the kindle, and I can’t think of anything that sounds bad about either of them right now, mostly because THERE’S SCOTTISH MEN who wear kilts in them. My weakness for kilts and guys who say things like “och” and “aye lass” knows no end. I have high hopes for these two!

I hope you guys got some great things in your mailboxes this week!!

10 Responses to “In My Mailbox (16)”

  1. April C February 26, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Unravelling looks good.

    And Scottish romance novels? Och aye, SIGN ME UP!

  2. Jacinda (@ReadingWifeJac) February 26, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    A few people have been talking up The Catastrophic History of You and Me on Twitter recently 🙂 I hope it’s great! 🙂

  3. Laura (@BurgandyIce) February 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Oh, FUN!! You’re going to enjoy reading the books you got this week!!!! I totally want Unraveling.

    Mine: Colorimetry

  4. Lisa! (@heylisarenee) February 26, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    I’ve heard ABOVE WORLD is the business. Enjoy! 🙂

  5. bookchelle February 26, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    I’ve heard good things about Amanda Forester. I’m looking for highland themed books. Please let me know how they are. Good haul. Catastrophic History of You and Me is amazing.

    Happy reading!
    Book Chelle.

  6. Heidi February 26, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    I had zero interest in The Catastrophic History of You and Me till I started seeing all of these wonderful things about it, excited to hear what you think! Also interested in hearing more about Above World as I’m always looking for good middle grade reads. Also bare chests and plaid? Sign me up for that!

  7. Becky @ Stories & Sweeties February 26, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to reading Catastrophic History after seeing the trailer! Can’t wait to see your review of Above World!

  8. sarah@catchingbooks February 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Awesome books this week!!

    Happy reading and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  9. Leah @ The Pretty Good Gatsby February 27, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    ooh, lucky duck! Unraveling looks so good!

    haha, I work in a bookstore & all those Scottish-men-in-kilts books sell like crazy. 😀 Clearly I need to find out what I’m missing!

    My IMM

  10. Asheley (@BookwormAsheley) February 29, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Oh this is funny! I’ve never read anything with highlanders in it before, but I did get my first highlander review book today. Under the Same Sky by Genevieve Graham, I think. Pretty sure there’s a kilt in there somewhere. I’m kinda excited about getting into that one. I’m just reading outside of my norm all over the place.

Tell me what's up!