In My Mailbox (7)

18 Dec

December 18, 2011

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

You guys, I got LOTS of COOL THINGS this week! From everywhere! Huzzah!

FROM NETGALLEY

Katana, by Cole Gibsen (March 8, 2012 from Flux). Two words: SAMURAI BUFFY. Say no more, Flux. I’m in. It’s a 2012 debut as well!

Pieces of Us, by Margie Gelbwasser (March 8, 2012 from Flux). Flux added some killer-sounding books to NetGalley over the last week or so, and they all sounded so great! This one is a contemporary about four teens who have complicated lives at home but manage to leave the drama behind at their lake houses each summer. OR DO THEY?? Mwaaahhaaha! (I don’t know why that just happened. This isn’t a scary book. Just lots of DRAMA.)

Buried: A Goth Girl Mystery, book 1, by Linda Joy Singleton (March 8, 2012 from Flux). This one sounds interesting, too. Thorn, the main character, is starting a new school and discovers a locket that leads her to the unmarked grave of a newborn baby (BANANAS, yes?). But Thorn has some secrets of her own to sweep up under the rug while trying to figure out what happened to the baby. Obviously, there is also man candy in the person of Phillipe, described as a “smoking hot musician.”

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews (March 1, 2012 from Abrams). THIS book. *sigh* Sounds amazing and heartbreaking. It’s about a socially awkward loner named Greg who likes make movies with his one buddy, Earl. Until he befriends a young girl with leukemia. And that’s about when I start CRYING. And the cover! This is the one to beat so far for my favorite cover of 2012. FYI, this is also a debut, friends participating in the DAC!

Welcome, Caller, This is Chloe, by Shelley Coriell (May 1, 2012 from Amulet). This is about a girl–Chloe–who has to join her school’s struggling radio station for credit and winds up meeting quirky, awesome misfits who become her friends and hosting a call-in show. At home, she’s dealing with her grandmother’s deteriorating health. Solace in radio, my friends. Looking forward to this one. Another debut, too!

FROM THE LIBRARY

Uncommon Criminals: Heist Society, book 2, by Ally Carter (June 21, 2011 from Hyperion). Guys, I’ve been waiting for this one to come in for MONTHS. Teenage thievery is apparently popular around here! You know what, though? I can’t even blame whoever managed to get a copy from my library before me. The first book in this series, The Heist Society, was different and enjoyable, and I’m hoping this book follows in its footsteps and ramps up the action and romance a little, too. 

Sword of the Rightful King, by Jane Yolen (May 1, 2003 from Harcourt). You guys? I am on a MISSION. A mission to find an Arthurian legend book that BLOWS MY MIND TO BITS. I’m still looking. Hopefully this one will be a step in the right direction because it’s not a contemporary retelling; it’s historical/fantastical fiction. Fingers crossed!

A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness (September 27, 2011 from Candlewick). Oh man, I can’t wait to read this book! The number of OUTSTANDING reviews I’ve read of this one are beyond count. It’s the story of Conor, a young boy whose mother has cancer who is visited in the night by a monster. Said monster, in his own way, helps Conor come to grips with his mother’s illness. I’m ready to be heartbroken, you guys. Also, on an aesthetic note, the book itself is really nice. Slightly larger trim size, nice paper. Hooray!

BOUGHT

Vanish: Firelight, book 2, by Sophie Jordan (September 6, 2011 from HarperTeen). I recently read–and enjoyed–the first book in this series, Firelight, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on VANISH. I read it already, too, and liked it a lot. I’m hoping to review it soon as well. Yay!

WON

The Near Witch, by Victoria Schwab (August 2, 2011 from Hyperion). So, around Thanksgiving time, Victoria Schwab ran a contest over on her blog. And lo and behold, I WON a copy of The Near Witch, which I had gotten from my library and read already and LOVED (my review action), but THIS COPY is extra special because it has a narwhal stamp in it! HUZZAH! (PS. Sorry for the tiny pics. Click to enbiggen!)

*Thanks so very much to Flux, Abrams, Amulet, and Victoria Schwab for being awesome and generous!

11 Responses to “In My Mailbox (7)”

  1. Lucy December 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Epic mailbox this week! Congrats on your cool Near Witch win. Looking forward to seeing what you think of Uncommon Criminals. I liked it nearly as well as Heist Society. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl does look good. I requested it too.
    Happy reading!

    • trippingbooks December 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      Thanks Lucy! Oooh, I’m glad that you liked Uncommon Criminals! The wait was a little torturous! And you have no idea how excited I was to win The Near Witch, lol. I had literally never won a thing until I won that book.

  2. nea barabea (@neabarabea) December 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Ohh Pieces of Us – ohh my oh what a beautiful cover!!

    I loved Vanish!! I hope you’ll like it 🙂

  3. April (Good Books & Wine) December 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    I love the library FOREVA!

    A Monster Calls is soooooo good, oh my goodness good. I audio-ed it and Lucius Malfoy is the narrator, or rather the guy who plays him in the movies. And yes, the physical book is so lovely!

    Sword of the rightful king looks AWESOME.

  4. Em December 18, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Great Mailbox! I really enjoyed Uncommon Criminal. It was really good. Hope you enjoy it!
    Happy REadin!
    Em
    My IMM
    A Beautiful Madness

  5. Katie December 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Great books this week! I really need to read Uncommon Criminals. I loved Heist Society. Happy reading!

    Stop by my IMM!

  6. FABR Steph December 18, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I still have to read Near Witch and am dying to read Pieces of Us. Great list of books.
    -FABR Steph@FiveAlarmBookReviews

  7. lisa (@heylisarenee) December 19, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Earl has SUCH a great cover. and also sounds amazing.

    A MONSTER CALLS! PATRICK NESS! MASSIVE FANGIRLING!

    • trippingbooks December 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      I LOOOOOOVE fangirling! There is no greater stamp of approval, in my mind. It’s happening. Thanks to you!

  8. Nicola @ A Pocket Full of Books December 19, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    A Monster Calls is AMAZING. One of the best books I’ve ever read. Prepare to cry your eyes out though!

    • trippingbooks December 20, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Ok, I think this one needs to cut the line. But GAH! Where will I find the TIME?!? You know what? That’s it. I’m just going to create more time. Like add minutes and hours to the day. I am decreeing this right now:

      “AMY, I hereby DECREE that your days are now 26 hours long so that you can read A MONSTER CALLS as soon as possible.”

Tell me what's up!