Tag Archives: Morgan Rhodes

Waiting on Wednesday (18): Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

14 Mar

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. I love it because it is basically a squee-fest where book lovers can choose one book that they are DYING to get their hands on. Check it out!

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)

by Morgan Rhodes

Book cover for Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Sixteen-year-old Cleo has grown up in luxury, the royal heiress to a prosperous kingdom. But beneath her nation’s seemingly peaceful surface lies dangerous unrest. Whispers of war are growing ever louder—intensified by a murderous incident for which Cleo’s betrothed, Aron, is accused.

Amidst the ongoing intrigue, Cleo has a more desperate mission. She defies her father’s orders and sets off on a secret and perilous journey into a neighboring country, seeking a magic long thought to be mythical. If it’s real, it could be the cure that heals her ailing sister. If it’s only legend, Cleo will be stranded in a kingdom that has just declared war on her own.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with unforgettable characters and vibrantly imagined magic. Falling Kingdoms is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Cinda Williams Chima, and George R.R. Martin.

Guys, do you see those names right up there? Cinda Williams Chima (!), Kristin Cashore (!!), and GEORGE R.R. MARTIN (!!!!!!!!!!)? FOR REAL?!? I could merely cite those names as the only reasons I am BEYOND PYSCHED to read FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes and it would be sufficient. Because seriously. Those are some fantasy heavyweights, not to mention the fact that, around these parts, everyone knows that I’m OBSESSED with A Song of Ice and Fire, so shouting out my boy George is pretty much a guaranteed hook for me. But this book sounds like it’s going to be amazing in its own right, with long-lost magic, defiant heiresses, civil unrest, political scheming, and lots of juicy characters. I don’t know if I could ever accurately describe how excited I get whenever I see a new high fantasy series about to get started, and FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes couldn’t sound any more AWESOME if it tried. So trust me: I’M ALL-CAPS EXCITED. Waiting on this one HARD, friends. HARD.

FALLING KINGDOMS (FALLING KINGDOMS #1) is coming out December 11, 2012 from Razorbill.