In My Mailbox (17)

3 Mar

March 4, 2012

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

Ok. So, I’m doing something TOTALLY NEW this week with my IMM, guys. Yes. It’s a VLOG. (GAH! *crawls under the bed and dies*) It’s not hot. In fact, I toyed with not posting it because I look weird and I didn’t get to edit it the way I had hoped, but I’m completely new to the video thing on my Mac, and I wanted to rip that band-aid off. Gotta post the first video sometime, right? So, keep in mind my newbie-ness while you’re watching and remember that I WILL GET BETTER AT IT. I promise.

But enough about my video! There’s great books on there! That’s the important part, so let’s CHECK IT:

Shout out to: Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit

Book Action!

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), by Richelle Mead. From the library. Holla!

Pandemonium (Delirium #2), by Lauren Oliver. Bought this one 🙂

Awkward, by Marni Bates. Blog tour! My review and a giveaway will be up on March 25!

UPDATE: Because I had my vlog on the brain, I COMPLETELY forgot to mention the two titles I got from NetGalley this week, which is sad because THEY ARE AWESOME:

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1), by Robin LaFevers. YOU GUYS. This one was available on NG for only two days as a promo and I DEVOURED it right after I got it. This is one of my most anticipated reads of the year and it met my expectations AND THEN SOME. One of the best books of the year. WRITE IT DOWN. (Big thank you kiss to Houghton Mifflin! GRAVE MERCY is out April 3, 2012.)

Romeo Redeemed (Juliet Immortal #2), by Stacey Jay. Yay! Next book in the Juliet Immortal series! (Thanks to Delacorte BFYR!! ROMEO REDEEMED is out October 9, 2012.)

18 Responses to “In My Mailbox (17)”

  1. Lisa! (@heylisarenee) March 3, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    I have yet to read the VA books, so I’m stoked to chat about them with you when I’m all done. YAY LIBRARIES.

    Yeah, the cover for Pandemonium leaves a lot to be desired. AND it doesn’t match (as you say), which is annoying. BAH.

    MORE VLOGS. Mwah!

  2. Katie March 4, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    A. Your vlog totally cracked me up – in a good way. B. Love that you used “gravitas” in a sentence. C. I just got Pandemonium in the mail (wooooo!) and I’m not as much bothered by the new covers as I am by the actual face that’s on them. Isn’t Lena supposed to be a teenager? B/c I think that cover model could easily be 23. D. Keep doing the vlogs! That was so entertaining!

  3. Kristin@BloodSweatandBooks March 4, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    I just won a copy of Pandemonium this week. It’s funny was going to go out and buy it, then checked my email and saw I won a copy lol.

    My IMM

  4. Courtney (@Shortskiee) March 4, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Enjoy all your books. I have yet to read Delirium or Pandemonium but I have heard great things about them. Definitely read the hell out of them 😀 LOL enjoy all your other books as well and have a wonderful Sunday!

    Le Mailbox

  5. Jo Carol Jones March 4, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Good for you trying the video with you Apple. I still have not worked up the courage. Enjoy your books.

  6. Heidi March 4, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    How can you not love a GIANT FACE on your book? I’m actually avoiding starting the Delirium series until after it’s all published since I’ve heard the cliffhangers abound. So fitting that you covered Awkward in your first vlog! I kid, you did great, you really weren’t too awkward at all. There weren’t 80 ums….you actually knew something to say about each book, etc. I’m going to call it a success! The only thing I hate about Mac cams is seeing all of the covers backwards.

    • trippingbooks March 4, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      haha…good call with talking about Awkward in my awkward first vlog, lol. I was totally unaware of the ums while I was talking, but when I watched it I was like, “too many ums, Amy!” And don’t worry about the backwards book covers. I already figured out how to fix it! (I recorded in a different program. The OTHER program flips the video so everything is facing the right way!)

  7. Lucy March 4, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Fun vlog! You’re already on Last Sacrifice- wow! Are you going to read Bloodlines next?

    I’m sad that Pandemonium does not match my Delirium cover too, but I agree it’s what inside that counts. And I share your nervous excitement!

    I saw on April’s blog that she loved Awkward and it does sound fantastic. Looking forward to your review.

  8. Alison (@AlisonCanRead) March 4, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Great set! I’m so glad you love Grave Mercy. I’m really excited for it.
    My IMM

  9. reutreads March 4, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Your vlog was good! I’m glad to hear GRAVE MERCY lived up to the hype. I can’t wait to read ROMEO REDEEMED! Happy reading!

    My IMM: http://reutreads.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/in-my-mailbox-41/

  10. Celine (@CelineNyx) March 4, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Haha, yay for Grave Mercy! I haven’t read it yet, but it does sound good. I’m glad you liked it so much (:

    Hope you enjoy all of your other books just as much.

    Celine ~ Nyx Book Reviews
    My IMM

  11. Megan March 4, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Awesome set of books. I hope you enjoy them!

    IMM @ Megan Likes Books

  12. Jacinda (@ReadingWifeJac) March 4, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    YAY first vlog! I’m actually doing a vlog for Wed…I don’t like doing them either. I think that’s because I don’t like watching vlogs or youtube videos much…lol.

    PANDEMONIUM! READ IT NOW! It is awesome! I swear! It is heartbreaking…

    I don’t think I’ve heard of Awkward…I need to go and check it out.

  13. Danica Page March 4, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Congrats on your first vlog. I bouth Delirium and so I need to read that first.

    Great haul!

    My B-day IMM

    Happy reading!

    Taking It One Page At a Time

  14. A. Knight March 5, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    AYO, for a first time vlogger YOU DID MARVELOUSLY. No, for real for reals. I say this because I remember my first vlog, and it was not very pretty. At all. I wish I did as wonderfully as you did on my first time. Why does that sound weird when I say that? Or maybe it’s just my gutter mind… XD Excuse me. I’m kind of sort of weird and stuff.

    ANYWAY, *fist-bump* we totally got Pandemonium around the same time, only I’m all jelly because you have an actual physical copy and, alas, I only have the e-book. But, whatevs, I can deal. And YAY Grave Mercy! And Last Sacrifice is AMAZING! It really made up for that lack I felt in part five. Enjoy all your books! 🙂

    Asher

    • trippingbooks March 6, 2012 at 12:12 am #

      THANK YOU so much!!! I figured I should just do one and get it over with. I’ve already figured out how to do it differently that will make it a little easier. But YAY! And seriously, thanks for the sweet compliments.
      About the books, I’m SUPER excited for Pandemonium, too. And listen: Grave Mercy is SO LEGIT. I predict it’s going to be one of my favorite books of the year. For real.

      • A. Knight March 7, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

        I don’t see how Grave Mercy can be anything OTHER THAN AWESOME. I’ve already read some crazy amazing reviews and they all confirm my happy suspicions. Pandemonium will tear you heart out. Just sayin’.

        And I always get like that when I vlog. What could I have done to make this better? OR THIS? OR WHAT THE WHAT WAS THAT? Why did my eye just twitch, etc. You get the idea. I can’t wait to see how you do on the next one 😉

        Asher

  15. April Books&Wine March 6, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Vampire Academy 4eva!

    ALSO YAY NETGALLEY. So jelly of Romeo Redeemed. I have my fingers crossed that Random House will approve me.

Tell me what's up!

