In My Mailbox (8)

1 Jan

January 1, 2012

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren. It’s awesome. Every week, we all get a chance to tell everyone what new books we’ve gotten so that we can tell you guys and we can all drool and squee together! Huzzah for squees!

Over the last two weeks I managed to accumulate quite a haul of books, you guys. I was STOKED. But since I have more books than usual in my mailbox this week, I’m going to forgo the book covers to save some time and space. K? (UPDATE: Still took me forever to link everything to Goodreads. Oh well.)

HOLIDAY GIFTED TO MYSELF

Breadcrumbs, by Anne Ursu. This one’s out already and I CAN’T WAIT to read it. It’s a retelling (any time I see this word in a synopsis, I’m immediately in. Retellings are the business) of The Snow Queen fable, and features a young girl who must rescue her childhood bff after his heart is frozen and he is taken by the evil queen to her ICE PALACE OF COLD DOOM so she can warm his heart again and they can go back to being bffs. YAY!

The Probability of Miracles, by Wendy Wunder. This one is going to be in my hands and under my eyeballs real soon. I can’t wait to read this story about a girl who has cancer and goes to live in a crazy, mysterious town in Maine where weird possibly miraculous things happen as a matter of course. Been hearing AMAZING things about this one, guys.

Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince: Infernal Devices, books 1 and 2, by Cassandra Clare. I’m so excited to read these! I was a little late to the Mortal Instruments series. Truth be told, I tried to read them once, put them down and had to go back to them again later. But I’m sooooo glad I did. This world is awesome, and these prequels sound emotionally draining and fantastic and swoony. LOVE.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, by Jennifer E. Smith. *Sigh* I’m reading this one right now (my copy was shipped early), and I’m loving it HARD. Oliver reminds me of Etienne from ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS, who is like instant swoon to me.

Awkward, by Marni Bates. This got some major props from Pam @ Bookalicio.us, and it sounds funny and geeky and…awkward (go figure). But hooray for awkward and awesome characters!

Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones. So, this book. Sadly, I have not yet read any Diana Wynne Jones, despite LOVING FANTASY LIKE WHOA. When I was younger, fantasy wasn’t my thing (unless you count my fantasy to have a boyfriend like Todd Wilkins from Sweet Valley High). I actually bought this as a legit gift for someone else and wound up giving them other things and keeping this one for myself. Oops! I’m really looking forward to it, though.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, by Catherynne M. Valente. I bought this one just so that I could have a copy. It was STUNNING and so imaginative and vibrant. It was a beauty, and now I have a copy on hand to brush up on things before the second book comes out!

GIFTS

Mastiff: Beka Cooper, book 3, by Tamora Pierce. I LOVE Beka Cooper. She’s kick-ass and smart and made of awesome. I’m gonna miss her big time.

East, by Edith Pattou. I’ve read this one already, too, but it was so gorgeous and wonderful that I NEEDED TO HAVE IT. Thanks Santa!

NETGALLEY

The Humming Room, by Ellen Potter (February 28, 2012 from Feiwel & Friends). GUYS. This is a middle-grade title that is based on THE SECRET GARDEN, in which a young girl’s parents are murdered and she is taken to live with her rich uncle in an old hospital. There’s ghosty business and a mysterious boy. This one sounds really promising.

Supergirl Mixtapes, by Megan Brothers (April 24, 2012 from Henry Holt). Southern girl moves in with estranged, wackadoo mom in NYC. It sounds like a hipster coming-of-age. The MC is probably cooler than me. 

Various Positions, by Martha Schabas (June 28, 2012 from Doubleday Canada). This book–about a young girl (I think she’s mean to be only 14) who is a ballet prodigy–sounds like it might make me a little uncomfortable. She kind of develops this “relationship” with one of her ballet instructors. I’m really intrigued to see where this one goes and how it handles what seems to be a more serious take on crushin’ on teacher. 

After the Snow, by S.D. Crockett (March 27, 2012 from Feiwel & Friends). This is a dystopian/post-apocalypse set in a second Ice Age where a young boy must go searching for his family with the help of young girl. Sounds stark and FAB. 

WON

So a little while back, Pam at Bookalicio.us ran a giveaway of books and swag from a signing she put together with Suzanne Young and Stacey Jay. This was LITERALLY the very first contest/giveaway that I HAVE EVER WON EVER, and I was so excited because these are two books I want to read in a bad way. Yay! And thanks Pam, Suzanne and Stacey!

Juliet Immortal, A Need So Beautiful, Stacey Jay, Suzanne Young, Paranormal, Paranormal YA, Young Adult

A Need So Beautiful: A Need So Beautiful, book 1, by Suzanne Young. More angels, guys! I’m making up for lost time now, and this book sounds FANTASTIC. Can’t wait to dive in.

Juliet Immortal: Juliet Immortal, book 1, by Stacey Jay. It’s Romeo and Juliet, except they are immortal spirits who hate each other’s guts, and are locked in an unending battle for the souls of people in true love! (Juliet = for, Romeo = against.) WORD. 

Dead on the Delta: Annabell Lee, book 1, by Stacey Jay. I must confess, I had never heard of this book before this giveaway, but I’m glad it was included. It’s an adult paranormal/urban fantasy romance that takes place in Louisiana. It sounds like ALL OF THE AWESOME. 

Whew! Lotsa books this week, my lovelies! Did you guys get anything tremendous in YOUR mailboxes this holiday?

8 Responses to “In My Mailbox (8)”

  1. Kristina Ebert January 1, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Wow you have a lot of awesome books this week.

    Have you seen the movie Howl’s Moving Castle? I have read the book and find that I actually prefer the movie, but just slightly. The book was great and you got more details but I still love the cute interactions between Sophie and Howl that you don’t really get in the book.

    Happy reading
    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/01/in-my-mailbox-40.html

  2. Lucy January 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Happy New Year! So many excellent reads. Glad to hear you are loving the Statistical Probability. That will be one of the first books I read this year. Loved the Probability of Miracles – think you will really enjoy it. Congrats on your book and swag win – yay!

    Looks like 2012 is off to a great start for you. Happy reading 🙂

  3. Cheyenne Teska January 1, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Sooo many great books. I’m completely jealous. Can’t wait to read The Probability of Love at First Sight! 🙂

  4. Candice January 1, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Great books! I can’t wait to read several of them!

  5. April Books&Wine January 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    I fixed the whole not ever reading Diana Wynne Jones but loving fantasy thing in 2011. It’s never to late to begin, because she is amazing.

    Hope you love THEM ALL, but especially Howl’s.

  6. Myra from GatheringBooks January 1, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    All these books sound like my kind of reading material! 🙂 I’ve seen a number of rave reviews about Breadcrumbs and I can’t wait to read it myself. The Probability of Miracles and The statistical probability of love at first sight – also sound like my kind of nerdish/bookish read – I taught undergraduate statistics onceuponatime (psychology-related), so I’d have a feeling I might enjoy these two books. I’ve also bought Howl’s Moving Castle several weeks back – I think I also posted it in my IMM several weeks back. I’ve seen the Studio Ghibli adaptation (have you seen the film yet?) – it’s awesome!

    Here’s my IMM for the week:
    http://gatheringbooks.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/in-my-mailbox-a-happy-new-year-special/

    I see that you have quite a number of reading challenges this year, do consider joining ours too! 🙂

    Happy New Year, Amy!

  7. Jess January 2, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    Congrats on your wins ! Juliet Immortal looks so interesting.

    IMM @ Books and Sensibility

  8. Melanie January 8, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    That’s some cool looking swag you got! Nothing like a pretty bookmark.

Tell me what's up!

