Get Your Game Face On: 2012 Reading Challenges

12 Dec

I’m not really that competitive, you guys. But I AM excited about doing these reading challenges this coming year! I’ve never done reading challenges, so I think I’m giving myself a solid but not overwhelming start just to get my feet wet. I REALLY can’t wait because there isn’t ONE book for any of these challenges that I’m not looking forward to reading. BIG THANK YOU in advance to all of the FANTABULOUS bloggers who are hosting the challenges I’m participating in. You guys are the best!

So, without further ado, here’s my challenges for this coming year! For future reference, visit the Challenges page up top there.

2012 Debut Author Challenge

The Debut Author Challenge is hosted by The Story Siren. It is awesome. Right now, I’m just listing 12 books: one for each month (the minimum) because when I tried to type ALL of the DAC books I’m planning on reading my eyes crossed. Keep checking the Challenges page for updates to the list.

Bold: own ARC/book

  1. Everneath
  2. Incarnate
  3. Cinder
  4. Tempest
  5. Fracture
  6. Born Wicked
  7. Love and Leftovers
  8. Struck
  9. The Gathering Storm
  10. Scarlet
  11. Ditched
  12. Grave Mercy

YA/MG Historical Fiction Challenge (Level 1)

Hosted by YA Bliss. Level 1 is five (5) books. I LOVE historical fiction! And I always feel like I never read enough historical YAs. That changes now, you guys.

  1. Gilt
  2. The Wicked and the Just
  3. Faithful
  4. The Other Countess
  5. Fateful

*haha…ONLY 5?! Totally going to read more for this, guys.

YA/MG Fantasy Challenge

Hosted by The Book Cellar. I LOVE fantasy. I’ll be reading at least 10 (the minimum), but never count me out with fantasies! It’s my go-to genre!

  1. Bitterblue
  2. Seraphina
  3. Mastiff
  4. The Demon King
  5. The Girl of Fire and Thorns
  6. Queen of Glass
  7. Grave Mercy

The Completely Contemp Challenge

Hosted by Chick Loves Lit. I’m reading–for now–5 books from each year, so 15 books.

2010

  1. The Oracle of Dating
  2. The Half-Life of Planets
  3. Losing Faith

2011

  1. What Happened to Goodbye
  2. The Summer Before Boys
  3. Sometimes it Happens
  4. Between
  5. Epic Fail
  6. Shut Out
  7. Past Perfect
  8. Bunheads
  9. The Survival Kit

*clearly missed my own memo here about the FIVE books I’ll be reading from each year.

2012

  1. Ditched
  2. The Disenchantments
  3. Wanderlove
  4. Second Chance Summer
  5. In Honor

YA/MG Mythology Challenge

This one’s hosted by For Those About to Read and I’m PSYCHED. I have so many mythology books to read! Huzzah!

  1. The Son of Neptune
  2. A Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy #1)
  3. Fury
  4. Starcrossed
  5. Valkyrie Rising
  6. Sweet Venom (Medusa Girls #1)
  7. Everneath
  8. Embers and Echoes (Wildefire #2)
  9. Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)
  10. Darkness Becomes Her (Gods & Monsters #1)
5 Responses to “Get Your Game Face On: 2012 Reading Challenges”

  1. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books December 12, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Yay, we’re challenge buddies for the Debut Author Challenge & the YA/MG Mythology Challenge! I’m a first-timer at taking on challenges too, but I’m sure it’ll be really fun! :)

    • trippingbooks December 12, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      Hooray! You’ll have to motivate me to finish when I’m dragging, lol! And I didn’t even know about the mythology challenge until I saw it on your site and said, “SCORE! I have so many of those books to read! This is perfect.” So thanks for signing up first! :-)

  2. lisa (@heylisarenee) December 13, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    i see you there, making lists of the books for the specific challenge!

    such a smart idea. you rule.

    also, thanks for the heads up on the YA Mythology Challenge. that sounds dope.

    • trippingbooks December 13, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      haha…just trying to keep up with the Joneses. Plus I’d totally lose track if I didn’t have lists. But thanks for the props!

      I’m excited about the Mythology challenge, too. I had forgotten how many of those books I need to read until I saw someone else participating and I was like, “WORD! I’m in!”

  3. Erica December 25, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    There are so many fabulous sounding challenges next year – I’ve limited myself to 2 others and the fantasy challenge, but I’m so tempted to do the mythology challenge (I hadn’t heard of it until now!)

Tell me what's up!

